Special Olympics Switzerland

Candidacy World Winter Games 2029

Switzerland welcomes the global Special Olympics movement

Special Olympics Switzerland, the Swiss organization of the world’s largest sports movement for people with intellectual disabilities, is bidding to host the Special Olympics World Winter Games 2029.

In Switzerland and around the world, the purpose of these world games is to sustainably contribute to an inclusive society in which people with and without disabilities co-exist.

The candidacy, as well as the planning and implementation of the World Winter Games 2029 are intended to help initiate and advance important developments in Switzerland’s policy in the spheres of sport and disabilities. The Games will address the topic of inclusion, give it a face, bring together the Swiss population and make it more open and understanding of people who are different.

Lasting 12 days and involving 2,500 athletes and 650 coaches/assistants from more than 100 nations, this event is the world’s second-largest winter-sports event after the Olympic Games.

The competitions in nine sporting disciplines will be held over six days in the canton of Graubunden: figure skating, short track, floorball, floor hockey in Chur; alpine skiing and snowboarding in Arosa; and cross-country skiing, snowshoeing and dance at Lenzerheide.

The opening ceremony will be held after the Host Town Program in the Letzigrund Stadium in Zurich, and the closing ceremony will take place in Chur. Additional events such as pre-games, a torch run, festivals, receptions, school projects, etc., will also accompany the World Winter Games 2029.

I am convinced that the hosting of the World Winter Games 2029 in Switzerland will sustainably contribute to an inclusive society.

Federal Councillor Viola Amherd, Chair of the Federal Department of Defence and Sport

News

Bid for World Winter Games in Switzerland has been submitted

Special Olympics Switzerland submitted its bid for World Winter Games in Switzerland in March 2029 to Special Olympics International on January 27, 2021. The main goal of the Games in Switzerland is to promote the inclusion of people with disabilities in our society. 2500 athletes, 650 coaches and about 800 media representatives are expected to...

Mehr lesen

Candidacy launch

Ittigen, 12.10.2020. The candidacy dossier was submitted to Federal Councillor Viola Amherd. She is backing the project and had intended to receive a delegation of athletes with disabilities at the Federal Palace. Due to increased coronavirus measures, however, this was not possible. Nevertheless, the Chair of the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport...

Mehr lesen

The candidacy dossier is ready

On 30 July 2020, the candidacy dossier for hosting the World Winter Games 2029 drawn up by the University of Applied Sciences of the Grisons and Special Olympics Switzerland was completed and submitted to the relevant public-sector partners.

Mehr lesen

Questions / Answers

Which disciplines will be on offer?

Types of sport Pictogram Total Athletes Coaches
Ski Alpine
Ski Alpin
500 400 100
Total
500
Athletes
400
Coaches
100
Snowboard
Snowboard
100 80 20
Total
100
Athletes
80
Coaches
20
Cross Country Skiing
Langlauf
475 380 95
Total
475
Athletes
380
Coaches
95
Snowshoeing
Schneeschuhlauf
375 300 75
Total
375
Athletes
300
Coaches
75
Figure Skating
Eiskunstlauf
240 190 50
Total
240
Athletes
190
Coaches
50
Short Track
Short Track
270 215 55
Total
270
Athletes
215
Coaches
55
Short Track
Unihockey
770 615 155
Total
770
Athletes
615
Coaches
155
Unihockey
Floor Hockey
245 195 59
Total
245
Athletes
195
Coaches
59
Dance Sport
Tanz
165 130 35
Total
165
Athletes
130
Coaches
35
Total
3140 2505 635
Total
3140
Athletes
2505
Coaches
635

All of Switzerland is joining in!

As with all Special Olympics World Games, the Host Town Programme takes place over four days ahead of the opening ceremony. Spread across every canton, the more than 100 delegations from different nations will prepare for their participation and get to know Switzerland. The Host Town Programme is designed to help the delegations interact with the population in general and school children in particular, build personal relationships and celebrate inclusivity in Swiss society. It will be held in places important to Swiss tourism.

What is the difference between the Special Olympics and the Paralympics?

Unlike the Olympic and Paralympic Games, the World Games are not an elite sports event. Every participant will be successful and be given a real opportunity to win a medal. There is no single winner in any of the disciplines.

Find out more

What is the sporting philosophy behind the Special Olympics?

Special Olympics competitions or games are sporting events at which every participant should experience success. Using existing results or ones achieved during a preliminary competition (divisioning), the athletes in all disciplines are divided into homogeneous ability groups (divisions).

Gender and age are taken into account only when participant numbers are high. Each ability group comprises a minimum of three and a maximum of eight athletes, and medals are awarded in every individual division. The groups are formed in such a way that, despite any potential differences in performance within a group, every participant has the opportunity to win a medal.

When is the event set to take place?

The World Winter Games in Switzerland are set to take place between 6 and 18 March 2029. This avoids the winter sports holiday periods of most Swiss cantons.

6th March 2029
Tuesday

Arrival of the delegations and transfer to the host town.

7th - 8th March 2029
Wednesday - Friday

Host Town Programme in all cantons

10th March 2029
Saturday

Opening ceremony

11th - 16th March 2029
Wednesday - Friday

Divisioning, competitions and medal ceremonies

17th - 18th March 2029
Saturday - Sunday

Closing Ceremony

Closing ceremony and departure

Regions Countries
Africa Burkina Faso, Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda
Asia / Pacific Australia, Bangladesh, Bharat (India), Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nippon, Pakistan, Serendib (Sri Lanka), Singapore
Asia China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Korea, Macau, Mongolia
Europe/Eurasia Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, FYR Macedonia, Georgia Republic, Germany, Gibraltar, Great Britain, Hellas (Greece), Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyz Re-public, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, Monaco, Montene-gro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbeki-stan
Latin America Argentina, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Uruguay, Venezuela
Middle East Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Pales-tine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates
North America Canada, Jamaica, St Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago, USA

Who will award the World Games 2029 and when?

The Swiss candidacy dossier will be submitted to Special Olympics International in January 2021. The successful candidacy would be announced either in July 2021 (in the event of being awarded host status for both 2025 and 2029) or in November 2024. The decision will be made by the board of Special Olympics International (SOI).

Who will be the organiser of the World Winter Games 2029?

For the delivery of the WWG 2029, a legal entity in accordance with Swiss law (an association or a society) will be set up to bring together the key stakeholders. Special Olympics Switzerland will be responsible for founding this organisation and will be represented on the strategic committee. The name of the event will be “World Winter Games 2029”. The descriptor “Switzerland” will serve to present the event externally.
Special Olympics World Winter Games Switzerland 2029
Graubunden, Chur, Zurich, Arosa, Lenzerheide

Strategic and operative committees will be defined in accordance with the regulations set out by Special Olympics International and in collaboration with all participating partners. These committees will be in line with those of other major events. A strategic committee that includes the relevant inclusivity organisations will be set up to implement the legacy. Collaborations with established partners in Switzerland will be sought in order to achieve the legacy goals.

How will the Games be funded?

The World Winter Games 2029 will cost 38 million Swiss francs – so around the same amount as the Youth Olympic Games Lausanne 2020. The funding concept is based on 75% of the total costs being borne by the Swiss Federal Government, the cantons of Graubunden and Zurich, the cities of Chur and Zurich, and the Arosa and Lenzerheide regions. Commercial activities will generate only modest revenue. Ticketing revenue is only possible at the opening ceremony as all competitions and other events will be freely accessible.

The candidacy dossier was drawn up by Special Olympics Switzerland and the University of Applied Sciences of the Grisons in collaboration with the cities of Chur and Zurich, the cantons of Graubunden and Zurich and the municipalities of Arosa and Vaz/Obervaz. Together with the appropriate application, it was submitted to the public-sector partners on 30 July 2020. This marked the launch of the political processes relevant to the funding of the event. The assurances of funding must apply both for delivery in 2029 as well in 2033, in case Switzerland is not chosen as the host country for 2029. The political funding process is likely to last until mid-2022.

Special Olympics Logo

Special Olympics Switzerland

Kandidatur World Winter Games 2029

Die Schweiz begrüsst die weltweite Bewegung von Special Olympics

Special Olympics Switzerland, die Schweizer Organisation der weltweit grössten Sportbewegung für Menschen mit geistiger Beeinträchtigung, bewirbt sich um die Austragung der Special Olympics World Winter Games 2029.

In der Schweiz und rund um den Globus sollen diese Weltspiele einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zu einer inklusiven Gesellschaft leisten, in der Menschen mit und ohne Beeinträchtigung zusammenleben.

Kandidatur, Planung und Durchführung der World Winter Games 2029 sollen helfen, in der Schweiz bedeutende Entwicklungen in der Sport- und Behindertenpolitik zu lancieren und voranzutreiben. Die Spiele werden die Inklusion thematisieren, ihr ein Gesicht geben, die Schweizer Bevölkerung zusammenbringen und sie gegenüber Menschen, die anders sind, offener und verständnisvoller machen.

Der 12 Tage dauernde Anlass mit 2500 Sportler*innen und 650 Coaches/Betreuenden aus über 100 Nationen ist nach den Olympischen Spielen der zweitgrösste Wintersportanlass der Welt.

Die Wettbewerbe in neun Sportarten werden während sechs Tagen im Kanton Graubünden durchgeführt: Eiskunstlauf, Short Track, Unihockey, Floor Hockey in Chur; Ski Alpin und Snowboard in Arosa und Langlauf, Schneeschuhlauf und Tanz auf der Lenzerheide.

Die Eröffnungsfeier findet nach dem Host Town Programm im Stadion Letzigrund in Zürich statt und die Schlussfeier in Chur. Weitere Anlässe wie Pre-Games, Fackellauf, Festivals, Empfänge, Schulprojekte, etc. umrahmen die World Winter Games 2029.

Ich bin überzeugt, dass die Bewerbung und eine mögliche Durchführung der World Winter Games 2029 in der Schweiz einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zu einer inklusiven Gesellschaft leisten wird.

Bundesrätin Viola Amherd, Vorsteherin des Eidg. Departementes für Verteidigung und Sport

News

Kandidatur für World Winter Games in der Schweiz ist eingereicht

Special Olympics Switzerland hat am 27. Januar 2021 die Bewerbung für World Winter Games Switzerland 2029 an Special Olympics International eingereicht. Hauptziel der Spiele in der Schweiz ist die Förderung der Inklusion von Menschen mit Beeinträchtigungen in unsere Gesellschaft. 2500 Athlet*innen, 650 Betreuer*innen und rund 800 Medienschaffende sollen im März 2029 in die Schweiz kommen...

Mehr lesen

Wichtiger Schritt für die Kandidatur in Graubünden

Die Kandidatur für die Weltwinterspiele in der Schweiz 2029 hat eine erste wichtige Hürde genommen. Der Churer Stadtrat erhält vom Gemeinderat grünes Licht, die Vorbereitungsarbeiten für die Durchführung der Special Olympics World Winter Games 2029 in Chur und dem restlichen Kanton voranzutreiben. Der Gemeinderat hat diesen Beschluss einstimmig gefasst. Die Bewerbung für den zweitgrössten Wintersportanlass...

Mehr lesen

Lancierung der Kandidatur

Ittigen, 12.10.2020. Das Kandidaturdossier wurde bei Bundesrätin Viola Amherd eingereicht. Sie steht hinter dem Projekt und hatte vorgehabt, eine Delegation von Athletinnen und Athleten mit Beeinträchtigung im Bundeshaus zu empfangen. Dies war aufgrund verschärfter Corona-Massnahmen aber nicht möglich. Nichtsdestotrotz zeigt sich die Vorsteherin des Departements für Verteidigung, Bevölkerungsschutz und Sport erfreut: «Ich bin überzeugt, dass...

Mehr lesen

Das Kandidaturdossier ist bereit

Am 30. Juli 2020 wurde die von der Fachhochschule Graubünden und Special Olympics Switzerland erarbeitete Kandidatur für die Austragung der World Winter Games 2029 in der Schweiz fertig gestellt und an die involvierten öffentlich-rechtlichen Partner eingereicht.

Mehr lesen

Fragen / Antworten

Welche Sportarten werden angeboten?

Types of sport Sportart Piktogramm Gesamt Athletinnen Coaches
Alpine Skiing
Ski Alpin
Ski Alpin 500 400 100
Gesamt
500
Athletinnen
400
Coaches
100
Snowboarding
Snowboard
Snowboard 100 80 20
Gesamt
100
Athletinnen
80
Coaches
20
Cross Country Skiing
Langlauf
Langlauf 475 380 95
Gesamt
475
Athletinnen
380
Coaches
95
Snowshoeing
Schneeschuhlauf
Schneeschuhlauf 375 300 75
Gesamt
375
Athletinnen
300
Coaches
75
Figure Skating
Eiskunstlauf
Eiskunstlauf 240 190 50
Gesamt
240
Athletinnen
190
Coaches
50
Short Track
Short Track
Short Track 270 215 55
Gesamt
270
Athletinnen
215
Coaches
55
Floorball
Unihockey
Unihockey 770 615 155
Gesamt
770
Athletinnen
615
Coaches
155
Floor Hockey
Floor Hockey
Floor Hockey 245 195 50
Gesamt
245
Athletinnen
195
Coaches
50
Dance Sport
Tanzsport
Tanzsport 165 130 35
Gesamt
165
Athletinnen
130
Coaches
35
Total
Special Olympics Logo
Special Olympics Logo 3140 2505 635
Gesamt
3140
Athletinnen
2505
Coaches
635

Die ganze Schweiz macht mit!

Wie bei allen Special Olympics World Games findet vor der Eröffnungsfeier an vier Tagen das Host Town Programm statt. Die über 100 Delegationen aus verschiedenen Nationen werden sich – verteilt auf alle Kantone – auf ihren Einsatz vorbereiten und die Schweiz kennen lernen. Das Host Town Programm soll den Delegationen helfen, Kontakte zur Bevölkerung, insbesondere zu Schülerinnen und Schülern, zu knüpfen, persönliche Beziehungen aufzubauen und die Inklusion in der Schweizer Gesellschaft zu leben. Es findet an Orten statt, die für den Schweizer Tourismus wichtig sind.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Special Olympics und Paralympics?

Im Unterschied zu olympischen und paralympischen Spielen sind World Games keine Spitzen- oder Leistungsveranstaltungen. Alle Teilnehmenden werden Erfolg haben und eine reale Chance erhalten, eine Medaille zu gewinnen. Es gibt in keiner Sportart nur eine Siegerin oder einen Sieger.

Mehr erfahren

Wie ist die Sportphilosophie von Special Olympics?

Special Olympics Wettkämpfe oder Games sind Sportanlässe, an denen alle Teilnehmenden ein Erfolgserlebnis haben sollen. Aufgrund von bekannten oder in einem Vorwettkampf (Divisioning) erzielten Resultaten werden die Athlet*innen in allen Sportarten in homogene Leistungsgruppen (Divisionen) eingeteilt.

Geschlecht und Alter werden nur bei grosser Anzahl von Teilnehmenden berücksichtigt. Eine Leistungsgruppe umfasst jeweils mindestens drei und maximal acht Athlet*innen und in jeder einzelnen Division werden Medaillen vergeben. Die Gruppen werden so zusammengestellt, dass trotz möglicher Leistungsunterschiede innerhalb einer Gruppe alle Teilnehmenden die Chance haben, eine Medaille zu gewinnen.

Wann soll der Event stattfinden?

Die World Winter Games in der Schweiz sollen vom 6. bis 18. März 2029 stattfinden. Damit wird die Wintersportferienzeit der meisten Schweizer Kantone umgangen.

6. März 2029
Dienstag

Ankunft der Delegationen und Verschiebung zum Host Town.

7. - 9. März 2029
Mittwoch - Freitag

Host Town Programm in allen Kantonen

10. März 2029
Samstag

Eröffnungsfeier

11. - 16. März 2029
Mittwoch - Freitag

Divisioning, Wettkämpfe und Medaillenfeiern

17. - 18. März 2029
Samstag - Sonntag

Abschlussfeier und Rückreise

Schlussfeier und Rückreise

Regionen Länder
Africa Burkina Faso, Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda
Asia / Pacific Australia, Bangladesh, Bharat (India), Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nippon, Pakistan, Serendib (Sri Lanka), Singapore
Asia China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Korea, Macau, Mongolia
Europe/Eurasia Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, FYR Macedonia, Georgia Republic, Germany, Gibraltar, Great Britain, Hellas (Greece), Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyz Re-public, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, Monaco, Montene-gro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbeki-stan
Latin America Argentina, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Uruguay, Venezuela
Middle East Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Pales-tine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates
North America Canada, Jamaica, St Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago, USA

Wer vergibt die World Games 2029 und wann?

Die Schweizer Kandidatur wird im Januar 2021 bei Special Olympics International eingereicht. Eine mögliche Vergabe erfolgt entweder im Juli 2021 (im Falle einer Doppelvergabe 2025 und 2029) oder im November 2024. Der Entscheid wird durch das Board von Special Olympics International (SOI) gefällt.

Wer wird Veranstalter der World Winter Games 2029?

Für die Durchführung der WWG 2029 wird eine juristische Person nach Schweizer Recht (ein Verein oder eine Gesellschaft) gegründet, in der sich die wichtigsten Stakeholder zusammenschliessen. Special Olympics Switzerland übernimmt für die Gründung dieser Organisation die Verantwortung und wird im strategischen Gremium vertreten sein. Der Name des Anlasses wird „World Winter Games 2029“ sein. Der Auftritt gegen aussen wird mit der Bezeichnung „Switzerland“ geschehen.
Special Olympics World Winter Games Switzerland 2029
Graubünden, Chur, Zürich, Arosa, Lenzerheide

Strategische und operative Gremien werden unter Berücksichtigung der Vorgaben von Special Olympics International und in Zusammenarbeit mit allen beteiligten Partnern definiert. Sie orientierten sich an anderen Grossanlässen. Für die Umsetzung des Vermächtnisses (Legacy) wird ein strategisches Gremium unter Einbezug der relevanten, im Bereich Inklusion tätigen Organisationen, gebildet. Für das Erreichen der Vermächtnisziele wird mit den in der Schweiz etablierten Partnern die Zusammenarbeit gesucht.

Wie werden die Spiele finanziert?

Die World Winter Games 2029 werden 38 Millionen Franken kosten – also etwa gleich viel wie die Youth Olympic Games Lausanne 2020. Das Finanzierungskonzept sieht vor, dass 75% der Gesamtkosten von Bund, den Kantonen Graubünden und Zürich, den Städten Chur und Zürich sowie den Regionen Arosa und Lenzerheide getragen werden. Aus kommerziellen Aktivitäten kann nur mit bescheidenen Einnahmen gerechnet werden. Einnahmen aus Ticketing können sich nur aus der Eröffnungsfeier ergeben, alle Wettkämpfe und Rahmenanlässe werden frei zugänglich sein.

Die Kandidatur für die Spiele wurde von Special Olympics Switzerland und der Fachhochschule Graubünden in Zusammenarbeit mit den Städten Chur und Zürich, den Kantonen Graubünden und Zürich und den Gemeinden Arosa und Vaz/Obervaz ausgearbeitet. Sie wurde zusammen mit dem entsprechenden Gesuch am 30. Juli 2020 an die öffentlich-rechtlichen Partner eingereicht. Damit begannen die politischen, für die Finanzierung relevanten Prozesse. Die finanziellen Zusicherungen müssen sowohl für eine Austragung 2029 wie auch für eine Austragung 2033, falls die Schweiz den Zuschlag für 2029 nicht erhält, gelten. Der politische Finanzierungsprozess dürfte bis Mitte 2022 dauern.